Cultural Emersion Experience

These sessions are limited. Register now to secure your spot!

Public Leadership Community Dinner

Day: 9 November 2024
Time: 19:30 – 21:30
Price: $49
Location: The Berghoff | Chicago’s Historic German Restaurant & Brewery, 17 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603
Join us in the lobby of the conference hotel at 19:00 for a 15-minute walk together to The Berghoff restaurant or meet at the restaurant at 19:30.
Facilitators: Public Leadership Community Team

Kansas Leadership Center

The ILA Public Leadership community is grateful for Kansas Leadership Center’s sponsorship to make this a real celebratory event and lower the cost per ticket.   

Sign-up for the pre-conference workshop:



  • Assorted Appetizers & Berghoff House Salad 

Main Course Options 

  • Sauerbraten: Marinated roast sirloin of beef, sweet and sour gravy (gluten-free) 
  • Chicken Schnitzel: Sautéed breaded chicken cutlet, topped with whole plum tomato, white wine, and fresh herbs. 
  • Potato Pancakes: With sour cream and purple cabbage (vegetarian) 

Side Dishes:  

  • Vegetable & Potato side dishes 


  • Apple Strudel: Warm, tart Granny Smith apples and candied pecans surrounded by a flaky, buttery strudel crust topped with caramel sauce. 


  • Soft Drinks, Organic & Fair-Trade Farmers Brother, Coffee, Berghoff Root Beer. 
  • Cash bar to purchase Beer, Wine, and Cocktails.  

The Public Leadership Member Community (PLMC) Leadership Team

Public Leadership encompasses leadership in and by government non-profit organizations/NGOs as well as leadership of cross-boundary networks focusing on public challenges. Public Leadership Member Community members are active in their communities and globally in leadership for the public good. Members are practitioners, educators, and researchers working in the public domain on a range of issues within and across sectors creating processes, systems, and connections.    

  • Tim A. Mau, PL Chair, Full Professor, University of Guelph & Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Public Leadership 
  • Patricia A. Clary, Past PL Chair, Patricia Clary & Associates 
  • Larissa Collier, Past PL Chair (2020, 2021), Associate Professor of Anatomy, Baptist University College of Osteopathic Medicine 
  • Ariel Kaufman, PL Stream Team Co-Chair, Past PL Chair (2017), Assessment & Research Specialist, Center for Leadership & Involvement, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
  • Chrys Egan, PL Chair-Elect (2025), PL & LD Stream Team Co-Chairs, Associate Dean of the Fulton School of Liberal Arts, Salisbury University 
  • Keyhan Shams, PL Online Engagement Coordinator, Research Assistant Professor and Assistant Director of Third Floor Research, Staley School of Leadership, Kansas State University 
  • Joel Domingo, Director of Research/Associate Professor, City University of Seattle 
  • Dwina Higgs, President, Bahama Lotus, Doctoral Candidate, Liberty University 
  • Chad H. Newton, Adjunct Instructor, Belhaven University and Bethel University 
  • Ihan Anita Ip, Lecturer, Coach, Leadership Studies, University of San Diego 
  • Sam Smith, Director of Communications, Kansas Leadership Center