Corporate Leaders as Architects for Social Change in Chicago and Beyond

Janet Foutty, Calvin Butler, Sona Wang, and Michael Strautmanis will share how their leadership extends beyond the C-Suite and the boardroom by delving into initiatives they have spearheaded and the challenges they have tackled as they influence change and empower others to lead change in their communities.

This session promises to be a powerful exploration of leadership that goes beyond profit margins, inspiring attendees to consider their own role in driving positive change.

Janet Foutty

Janet Foutty, Former CEO and U.S. Board Chair, Deloitte; Co-author, Arrive and Thrive, 7 Impactful Practices for Women Navigating Leadership. Read Bio (pdf).

Calvin Butler

Calvin Butler, President and Chief Executive Officer of Exelon, the largest utility company by customer count in the U.S. Read Bio (pdf).

Sona Wang

Sona Wang, Co-founder, Chicago Blues Experience; Co-founder, Randolph Entertainment; Growth-oriented venture capitalist. Read Bio (pdf). 

Michael Strautmanis

Michael Strautmanis, Executive Vice President of External Affairs, Obama Foundation. Read Bio (pdf).


Public Leadership in Crisis: Why Is Democracy Under Threat Globally

Larry Diamond
Larry Diamond, William L. Clayton Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution; Mosbacher Senior Fellow in Global Democracy, Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies; Bass University, Fellow in Undergraduate Education

Special Sessions

Lifetime Achievement Award Winners

David Day

David V. Day, Ph. D., Professor and Steven L. Eggert ’82 P’15 Professor of Leadership, Department of Psychological Science, Claremont McKenna College; Academic Director, Kravis Leadership Institute, Claremont McKenna College

Gail Fairhurst

Gail T. Fairhurst, Ph.D., Distinguished University Research Professor, School of Communication, Film, & Media Studies, University of Cincinnati, USA

Robert C. Liden, Ph.D., Professor; Managerial Studies Department; University of Illinois Chicago; Visiting Professor; Leeds University Business School; University of Leeds